The 2018 Music Production Guild (MPG) Awards nominees have been released. Now in its 10th year, the MPG Awards feature 15 award categories that celebrate the best and brightest talent in music production, along with the industry’s rising stars. Previous award winners have included Sir George Martin CBE, FKA Twigs, Roni Size, Sylvia Massy, Brian Eno, Trevor Horn and Dave Stewart.

The 2018 Shortlist, which was announced today, was fiercely contested with a record number of MPG Full Members casting votes. Final judging will take place at RAK Studios on December 4th 2017 and the winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony on March 1st 2018 at the Grosvenor House, Park Lane, London, where broadcaster and breakfast show presenter Shaun Keaveny will be the host.


Producer of the Year Producer of the Year Nominees


The shortlists for each of the MPG 2018 Awards categories (in no particular order) are as follows:


UK Producer Of The Year

Catherine Marks
Charlie Andrew
Tom Dalgety


Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Manon Grandjean
Matt Wiggins
Neil Comber


Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic

Cenzo Townshend
David Wrench
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent


Re-mixer Of The Year, sponsored by Novation

Ewan Pearson
Matthew Herbert


Breakthrough Producer Of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite

Ben Baptie
Guy Massey
Jolyon Thomas


Self-Producing Artist Of The Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio

Brian Eno
Glass Animals (Dave Bayley)
Sleaford Mods (Jason Williamson & Andrew Fearn)


Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec

Jake Gordon
Marta Salogni
Steph Marziano


International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by British Grove Studios

Garret ‘Jacknife’ Lee
T Bone Burnett


Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Miloco Studios

Barry Grint
Mandy Parnell
Matt Colton


UK Album Of The Year, sponsored by Universal Audio

alt-J: ‘RELAXER’
Glass Animals: ‘How To Be A Human Being’
Royal Blood: ‘How Did We Get So Dark?’


UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

Arcade Fire: ‘Everything Now’
Harry Styles: ‘Sign Of The Times’
Royal Blood: ‘Lights Out’


The A&R Award

Adele White
Ben Durling
Jane Third


Studio Of The Year, sponsored by RME

Abbey Road Studios
RAK Studios
Strongroom Studios


Tickets for the 2018 MPG Awards are now on sale. For price information and bookings, proceed to MPG’s official website for more details.